• 2016 AA Editor Search
  • Get Ready for the Annual Meeting

    From t-shirts to journals, 2014 Annual Meeting Gear Shop Now
  • Open Anthropology
  • Latest AAA Podcast

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 20,601 other followers

Committee on Gender Equity in Anthropology Award

Nominations Due: May 1

The CoGEA Award (formerly known as the Squeaky Wheel Award), sponsored by the AAA Committee on Gender Equity in Anthropology (CoGEA), recognizes individuals who have demonstrated the courage to bring to light and investigate practices in anthropology that are potentially discriminatory to women, have acted to raise awareness of women’s contributions to anthropology or identify barriers to full participation by women in anthropology, or have helped to bring about significant shifts in intellectual paradigms through their anthropological research on women’s lives.

The committee seeks nominations for scholars and practitioners from all subfields of anthropology who have acted to improve the status of women in anthropology through:

* Mentorship of female and male colleagues and students

* Research that has directly addressed the roles, situations, and experiences of women in anthropology

* Scholarship on women or gender that has influenced shifts in anthropological theory.

* The development of policies, procedures, or other professional standards that alleviate gender inequality in the field of anthropology

Anyone may submit nominations, including non-AAA members or non-anthropologists. Nominations should include the name, affiliation and title of the individual being nominated, a one- or two-paragraph description of the reason for the nomination and the nature of the person’s contribution to the improvement of the status of women in anthropology, and a copy of the nominee’s CV. The nomination also should include the name, address, phone number and email address of the nominator. Nominators may be contacted for additional material concerning finalists. Nominations should be sent by May 1 to Suzanne Mattingly, CoGEA Liaison at smatting@aaanet.org.  Awardees and nominators will be notified by July 1.

Previous CoGEA Award winners include: Liz Brumfiel (2011), Laura Nader (2010), Constance Sutton (2009), Margaret Conkey (2008), Joan Gero (2007), Sandra Morgen (2006), Adrienne Zihlman (2004), Sue Kent (2003), Carole Crumley (2002), Naomi Quinn (2001), Roger Sanjek (2000), Carol Kramer (1999), Louise Lamphere (1998), and John Yellen (1997).


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,601 other followers

%d bloggers like this: