• 2016 AA Editor Search
  • Get Ready for the Annual Meeting

    From t-shirts to journals, 2014 Annual Meeting Gear Shop Now
  • Open Anthropology
  • Latest AAA Podcast

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 20,597 other followers

Invitation for Award Nominations

Deadlines are approaching on the following AAA Awards –

February 15

AAA Minority Dissertation Fellowship
The AAA invites minority doctoral candidates in anthropology to apply for a dissertation writing fellowship of $10,000 awarded annually.

March 1

Franz Boas Award for Exemplary Service to Anthropology
This award is presented annually by the AAA to its members whose careers demonstrate extraordinary achievement that have well served the anthropological profession.

AAA/Oxford University Press Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching of Anthropology
This award given annually was established in 1997 to recognize teachers who have contributed to and encouraged the study of anthropology.

Anthropology in Media Award (AIME)
This award given annually was established in 1987 to recognize the successful communication of anthropology to the general public through the media.

Robert B Textor and Family Prize for Excellence in Anticipatory Anthropology
This award given annually was established in 1998 to encourage and reward excellent contributions in the use of anthropological perspectives, theories, models and methods in an anticipatory mode.

March 15

Margaret Mead Award
This $1000 award is presented annually to a younger scholar for a particular accomplishment such as a book, film, monograph, or service, which interprets anthropological data and principles in ways that make them meaningful and accessible to a broadly concerned public.

AAA Leadership Fellows
Awarded annually and established to provide a unique opportunity for anthropologists early in their careers to learn about AAA and leadership opportunities and to encourage future leadership in the association. A $500 travel subsidy will be provided to attend the annual meeting.

The following award nominations are due later in the year; however, early submissions are welcome.

May 1

CoGEA Award
Sponsored by the AAA Committee on Gender Equity in Anthropology and awarded annually, recognizes individuals who have demonstrated the courage to bring to light and investigate practices in anthropology that are potentially discriminatory to women.

June 1

David M. Schneider Award
Throughout his life, David Schneider’s work on kinship, culture theory and American culture was provocative and iconoclastic. This $1000 award will be given annually in recognition of work that treats one or more of these topics in a fresh and innovative fashion.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,597 other followers

%d bloggers like this: