• 2016 AA Editor Search
  • Get Ready for the Annual Meeting

    From t-shirts to journals, 2014 Annual Meeting Gear Shop Now
  • Open Anthropology
  • Latest AAA Podcast

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 20,600 other followers

AAA Members – There Is Still Time To Cast Your Vote

Today’s blog post is a special message from your AAA Secretary, Deb Martin.

What Do 10,000+ Members of AAA Have In Common?

Beyond having DNA in each of their cells and being smarter than the average scholar, what possibly could 11,000+ active members of AAA have in common?  Well, for one thing, 10,000+ active members have not yet voted in the AAA elections.

Why is that? 

I know there are some members who feel that their vote doesn’t matter. Here is the thing: Last year, for many of the candidates the vote was very, very close.  Literally, some people won their seat by a few votes.  More often than not, the votes were very close, like 52% to 48%.   So there is empirical data to suggest that this is NOT a good reason for not voting since one vote can make a difference.

I know there are some members who feel that the AAA is run by a small inside group who controls all the power.  Here is the thing on that:  Not true.  I am a biological anthropologist and I didn’t know hardly anyone on the board when I got elected to the Secretary position.  Every year, 1/3 or so of the people cycle off the board, and new people cycle on.  There are people in positions from all walks of anthropological life and it would be statistically and scientifically impossible for a small group of people to control who is on the board or in section positions at any given moment.

I know that there are some members who feel that only cultural anthropologists  get on the slates.  This is not true.  The slates are made up from a pool of candidates who put their name in the mix.  Many of the slates are specifically designated and both candidates must represent the designation: cultural, linguistic, biological, archaeology, practicing/professional etc.  At any given time, there is representation by all kinds of anthropologists, and diversity within the subdisciplines as well.

I know that there are some members who do not vote because they don’t personally know any of the candidates.  Whoa! This one really makes me chuckle.  There are almost 12,000 paying members of the AAA!! Of course we don’t personally know many of the candidates running, why should we?  That is why there are platform statements and short bios attached with each candidate.  You do not need to personally know anyone to make an informed decision about who you would rather see hold the position.

So please, go vote.  Once you are in the system, you will see how easy it is to navigate, with photos, short platform statements and bios, everything you need to see who your gut tells you to vote for.

AAA Election Candidates Announced

On April 15, the American Anthropological Association’s association-wide elections and section elections will begin.  New to this year, you can view the candidates prior to the opening of the ballot.

Here are the candidates running in the association-wide elections:

AAA Secretary (3-year term)
Rani Alexander and Margaret Buckner

AAA Executive Board (3-year term)
Cultural Seat: A Lynn Bolles and Bill Maurer
Student Seat: Ryan Harrod and Karen G Williams
Undesignated #1: Cheryl Mwaria and Peter Neal Peregrine
Undesignated #4: Kathleen Musante Dewalt and Rayna Rapp

Nominations Committee (3-year term)
Practicing/Professional Seat: Stephen Edward Nash and Sharon M Stratton
Minority Seat: Whitney Battle-Baptiste and Kimberly Eison Simmons

Committee on Ethics (3-year term)
Practicing/Professional Seat: Gregory J Borgstede and Neely Myers
Undesignated #1: Christine Hegel-Cantarella and Christopher T Nelson

Committee on the Gender Equity in Anthropology (3-year term)
Practicing/Professional Seat: Carole McDavid and Sarah Ono
Undesignated #5: Heather Levi and Marcia Ochoa

Committee for Human Rights (3-year term)
Undesignated #2: Robert Lewis Clark and Tricia Redeker-Hepner
Undesignated #3: Eva Friedlander and K Anne Pyburn

Committee on Minority Issues in Anthropology (3-year term)
Undesignated #3:  Elizabeth Chin and Jennifer D Heung
Undesignated #4: Flordeliz T Bugarin and Mayanthi L Fernando

Committee on Public Policy (3-year term)
Undesignated #7: Alexander A Bauer and Susan B Hyatt

Labor Relations Committee (3-year term)
Undesignated #1: Catherine Koehler and John R Roby
Undesignated #2: Brian McKenna and Christine J Walley

There are also 38 section elections that will be occurring during this time. To view the complete list of candidates running in the section elections, click here.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,600 other followers