• 2016 AA Editor Search
  • Get Ready for the Annual Meeting

    From t-shirts to journals, 2014 Annual Meeting Gear Shop Now
  • Open Anthropology
  • Latest AAA Podcast

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 20,597 other followers

2012 American Anthropological Association Awards

It’s not too early to start thinking about the 2012 AAA Awards. The following awards have spring nomination deadlines:

Alfred Vincent Kidder Award
Established in 1950, this award is awarded every two years to an outstanding archaeologist specializing in the archaeology of the Americas. 
Deadline: February 15, 2012      

Franz Boas Award for Exemplary Service to Anthropology
This award is presented annually by the AAA to its members whose careers demonstrate extraordinary achievement that have well served the anthropological profession.
Deadline: March 1, 2012

AAA/Oxford University Press Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching of Anthropology
This award was established in 1997 to recognize teachers who have contributed to and encouraged the study of anthropology.
Deadline: March 1, 2012

Robert B Textor and Family Prize for Excellence in Anticipatory Anthropology
This award was established in 1998 to encourage and reward excellent contributions in the use of anthropological perspectives, theories, models and methods in an anticipatory mode.
Deadline: March 1, 2012

Anthropology in Media Award
This award was established in 1987 to recognize the successful communication of anthropology to the general public through the media.
Deadline: March 1, 2012

Margaret Mead Award (AAA and SfAA)
This $1000 award is presented to a younger scholar for a particular accomplishment such as a book, film, monograph, or service, which interprets anthropological data and principles in ways that make them meaningful and accessible to a broadly concerned public.
Deadline: March 15, 2012 

David M Schneider Award
Throughout his life, David Schneider’s work on kinship, culture theory and American culture was provocative and iconoclastic. This $1000 award will be given in recognition of work that treats one or more of these topics in a fresh and innovative fashion.
Deadline: June 1, 2012

Solon T. Kimball Award
Established to honor exemplary anthropologists for outstanding recent achievements that have contributed to the development of anthropology as an applied science and have had important impacts on public policy.
Deadline: June 1, 2012

Visit the AAA website to learn more about all the AAA Awards.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,597 other followers